Thursday, February 14, 2013

12 13 Boys Basketball Game 21 - Sequim 62, Steilacoom 47

DISTRICT BOYS HOOPS: Sequim 62, Steilacoom 47

February 14th, 2013 - 1:02am

(Tacoma) -- The Sequim Wolves advanced into the double elimination portion of the boys 2A West Central District tourney with a 62-47 victory over the Steilacoom Sentinels Wednesday night at Lakes High School.
Sequim (18-3) plays Franklin Pierce (13-8) in a Friday contest at Lakes High beginning at 6 p.m with the winner heading to the regionals.
The Wolves survived their first round, loser out contest with the Sentinels, never relinquishing the advantage and claiming their 11th straight victory.
Jayson Brocklesby and Alex Barry shared team-high honors for Sequim with 15 points apiece.
Anthony Pinza and Rory Kallappa chipped in 9 apiece. The Wolves tallied the first 7 points of the game and led 13-4 after one frame.
After Sequim forged a 19-7 bulge, Steilacoom closed to within 5 after baskets by Grant Reed and Terrence Holmes.
The Wolves answered with triples from Pinza, Barry and Tim Guan, pushing ahead 27-14 at intermission.
Steilacoom's Deshawn Habte scored 11 of his 16 points in the third period, including a pair from beyond the arc.
Sequim took a 42-27 lead to the final quarter.
Holmes shouldered the Sentinels scoring burden in the final 8 minutes, hitting 15 of his game-high 22 points, including 8 of 12 freebies.
However, the Sentinels couldn't get closer than 8 as Sequim protected the ball - committing just 7 turnovers for the game - and canned 19 of 26 from the line.
In other loser out District boys games Wednesday, Kingston beat Foster 44-32, White River stung North Kitsap 55-32 and Sumner downed Bremerton 63-48.
Scoring by Quarters:
Ste - 04 10 13 20 - 47
Seq - 13 14 15 20 - 62
Steilacoom (47) -- Joseph Byrne, Deshawn Habte 16, Patrick Thomas, Darian Williams, Terrence Holmes 22, Jaden Jenkins, Adrian Mallet, Grant Reed 5, Kalil Haynesworth, Colin Abney 2, Eric DeGrate 2, Ben George.
Sequim (62) -- Anthony Pinza 9, Donovan Lee, Alex Barry 15, Rory Kallappa 9, Jayson Brocklesby 15, Tim Guan 3, Erik Christensen 1, Gabe Carter 10, Andrew Shimer, Vance Willis.

No comments:

Post a Comment