Saturday, February 22, 2014

13 14 Boys Basketball Game 22 - Sumner 55, Sequim 47

Sumner boys 55, Sequim 47

February 21st, 2014 - 11:58pm
(Tacoma) -- Riley Bruil scored 10 of his 20 points in the final quarter, leading the Sumner Spartans to a 55-47 victory over the Sequim High Wolves in West Central District 2A boys basketball play at Bellarmine Prep in Tacoma.
The Wolves were eliminated from the postseason and finish the campaign with a 15-7 mark.
Sumner (17-8) will play Clover Park Saturday afternoon at 2:30 at Foss High in Tacoma for the fifth and final District 3 spot into the regionals.
Clover Park beat the Olympic Trojans 52-47 in the nightcap of a district hoops doubleheader at Bellarmine.
Friday's game marked the final prep basketball appearances for Sequim seniors Erik Christensen, Jesse Francis, George Johnson, Rory Kallappa and Anthony Pinza.
The Wolves trailed 8-0 before Christensen scored a basket in the lane with 2:55 left in the opening quarter.
Sequim was behind 17-9 after the first 8 minutes.
The Wolves never recovered from the slow start and got no closer than 5 points for the rest of the game.
Sumner was up 22-15 at the halftime and had a 7 point advantage going to the final frame at 37-30.
The Spartans dropped 10 of 15 free throws in the final period to clinch the win.
Bruil hit 8 of 10 from the stripe overall.
Jace Johnson paced the Spartans with 17, while Tyson Birrer and Tristan Pearson tossed in 7 apiece.
Christensen was the Wolves leading scorer for the second straight game with 15 tallies.
Anthony Pinza netted 11 and junior Alex Barry had 8.
George Johnson had an outstanding defensive performance for the Wolves, scoring 7.
Christensen and junior Josh McConnaughey had 5 blocked shots each and Barry deflected 4 Sumner shots.
Scoring by Quarters:
Sum - 17 05 15 18 -- 55
Seq - 09 06 15 17 -- 47
Scoring Summary:
Sumner (55) -- Tyson Birrer 7, Dawson Cutright, Riley Bruil 20, Sean Carnahan 4, Tristan Pearson 7, Luc Powers-Hubbard, Jace Johnson 17, Austin Ford.
Sequim (47) -- Anthony Pinza 11, Jesse Francis, Alex Barry 8, Vance Willis 2, Rory Kallappa, Erik Christensen 15, Josh McConnaughey 4, George Johnson 7.

No comments:

Post a Comment