Wednesday, February 12, 2014

13 14 Boys Basketball Game 20 -- Bremerton 80, Sequim 74

Bremerton boys 80, Sequim 74

February 11th, 2014 - 11:51pm
(Sequim) -- Clutch baskets in the final minutes by Wayne Ayers, Marquis Gurske and Deonti Dixon pushed the Bremerton Knights past the Sequim Wolves 80-74 Tuesday night at Rick Kaps Gym.
The victory gave Coach Darren Bowden and the Knights the Olympic League boys basketball championship after a matchup of the circuit's top two teams.
Both Bremerton and Sequim will start district tournament play in the double elimination second round on Wednesday, February 19th.
Nine consecutive Bremerton points over a 90 second period in the final two-and-a-half minutes was the difference in a game that was tied 13 times and had 20 lead changes.
Dixon hit a running shot with 2:30 remaining that gave the Knights the advantage for good at 68-67. He had 19 for the game.
Wayne Ayers bombed in his fifth and final triple with 2 minutes to go, putting the Knights up 71-67. Ayers had a game-high 21 points.
A pair of Marquis Gurske layups increased the Bremerton margin to an insurmountable 75-67 with a minute left.
Gurske and Skyler Lewis had 12 points apiece for Bremerton.
The Knights connected on 7 of 8 free throws in the final quarter.
Sequim honored its five graduating seniors in pregame ceremonies -- Erik Christensen, Jesse Francis, George Johnson, Rory Kallappa and Anthony Pinza.
Pinza scored a team-high 16, Vance Willis had 14 and Alex Barry 13 markers.
Kallappa paced Sequim with 10, Christensen had 8 and Johnson added 4 tallies.
The Knights (17-3 overall, 15-1 in league) will be the number one seed from the Olympic League, playing at Foss High School in Tacoma next Wednesday at 7:45.
Sequim (15-5 overall, 13-3 in league) will be the second seed with a game at Curtis High School in University Place next Wednesday, beginning at 6 p.m.
Scoring by Quarters:
Bre - 20 12 18 30 -- 80
Seq - 17 20 13 24 -- 74
Scoring Summary:
Bremerton (80) -- Casey Winderl, Tavontay Carter, Tyree Mason 11, Wayne Ayers 21, Marquis Gurske 12, Calvin Cardwell, Deonte Dixon 19, Skyler Lewis 12, Hudson Kolb, Terrick Sims 5.
Sequim (74) -- Anthony Pinza 16, Jesse Francis 3, Alex Barry 13, Alex Rutherford 2, Vance Willis 14, Rory Kallappa 10, Erik Christensen 8, Josh McConnaughey 4, George Johnson 4.
Junior Varsity: Bremerton 60, Sequim 59.

No comments:

Post a Comment